{"stateName":"Utah","slug":"utah","summary":"A practical Utah DIY guide: choose the correct official record or Utah notarization, prepare category-specific prerequisites, then request paper or eligible digital authentication from the Lieutenant Governor. Checked October 24, 2026. [UT-01: Document Authentication; UT-02: Types of Documents]","commonDocuments":"Utah vital and marriage records, District Court records and decrees, public/charter and private school records, Department of Commerce company records, properly notarized private documents and local police clearances; federal and other-state records use separate authorities. [UT-02: document categories; UT-03: federal and out-of-state questions]","timing":"Published guidance checked October 24, 2026: mail-in 1-3 business days after Lieutenant Governor office receipt; appointments may take up to two hours, while the FAQ describes digital/appointment processing as same-day. Record acquisition, security/mailroom delay, transit, holidays and correction are additional; estimates are not guarantees. [UT-01: processing notice and Mail-In Processing Schedule; UT-03: processing questions; UT-07: Required Preparation \u0026 Wait Times]","caveat":"Do not apply one procedure to every document: public/charter school signatures differ from private-school notarization; company records need Commerce apostille preparation; Division Vital Records output is excluded from digital delivery. Utah\u2019s universal certificate design does not guarantee recipient acceptance or remove further non-Hague legalization. [UT-02: Education Records, Corporate Documents; UT-04: digital exclusion; UT-08: recipient requirements]","officialResourceName":"Utah Lieutenant Governor \u2014 Document Authentication","officialResourceUrl":"https://authentications.utah.gov/process-from-home-page/","micrositeUrl":null,"lawResourceName":"Utah notary certificate forms","lawResourceUrl":"https://notary.utah.gov/resources-forms/","secondaryLawResourceName":"Utah authentication document requirements","secondaryLawResourceUrl":"https://authentications.utah.gov/type-of-document-from-home-page/","legalNotes":["UT-01 | Document Authentication | official agency instructions | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated; current service model checked | Issuance Methods; Fees \u0026 Processing Times; Payment Information; Mail-In \u0026 Drop Box Policies; Mailing \u0026 Physical Office Addresses | https://authentications.utah.gov/process-from-home-page/","UT-02 | Types of Documents | official agency instructions | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Original Public Documents; Properly Notarized Documents; Corporate Documents; School \u0026 Police Records | https://authentications.utah.gov/type-of-document-from-home-page/","UT-03 | Authentications FAQs | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Document Fees; General Authentications; Online Ordering; Document Requirements \u0026 Eligibility; Processing, Appointments \u0026 Logistics | https://authentications.utah.gov/frequently-asked-questions/","UT-04 | Request Forms | official agency form index | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Digital Delivery; In-Person; Mail-In Request Forms | https://authentications.utah.gov/request-form/","UT-05 | In-Person Document Authentication Request Form | official form; PDF visually inspected | checked 2026-10-24 | PDF title July 9 In-Person Form; no effective-date statement in form | page 1 sections 1-3; page 2 section 4 | https://authentications.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/In-Person-Form-.pdf","UT-06 | Adoption Document Authentication Request Form | official form; PDF visually inspected | checked 2026-10-24 | PDF title July 9 In-Person Adoption Form; no effective-date statement in form | page 1 sections 1-4; page 2 section 5 | https://authentications.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/In-Person-Adoption-Form.pdf","UT-07 | Schedule An Appointment | official agency instructions | checked 2026-10-24 | appointment requirement effective 2026-07-01 | In-Person Appointments \u0026 Processing Times; Required Preparation \u0026 Wait Times | https://authentications.utah.gov/schedule/","UT-08 | Utah Implements Single-Certificate Format | official agency announcement | checked 2026-10-24 | announced 2026-07-08 | July 8 announcement; certificate function, recipient requirements, replacement fees and further legalization | https://authentications.utah.gov/uncategorized/utah-implements-single-certificate-format-for-apostilles-and-authentications/","UT-09 | Online Ordering Now Available | official agency announcement | checked 2026-10-24 | online ordering launched 2026-09-03 | September 3 announcement; eligible scanned documents and digital delivery | https://authentications.utah.gov/updates/online-ordering-now-available-for-apostille-and-authentication-requests/","UT-10 | Utah e-Register Verification Portal | official verification portal; read only, no certificate queried | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Certificate Number; Verify Certificate Number; secure redirect notice | https://verifyapostille.utah.gov/","UT-11 | Ordering/Obtaining Copies \u0026 Certificates | official Commerce instructions | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Notarized Documents for Apostille; introductory processing estimates; Fees | https://commerce.utah.gov/corporations/ordering-in-house-documents/","UT-12 | Division of Corporations In-House Order Form | official form; PDF visually inspected | checked 2026-10-24 | form footer 3/26 | page 1 apostille checkbox, destination, services, fees and return selections | https://commerce.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/cccodrfm.pdf","UT-13 | Order an Official Vital Record Certificate | official Vital Records instructions | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | eligibility; Online Orders; In-Person Orders; Orders by Mail; record-coverage dates | https://vitalrecords.utah.gov/order-a-vital-record-certificate","UT-14 | Vital Records Fee Schedule | official agency fee schedule | checked 2026-10-24 | effective 2026-07-01 | Record Type / Service table; response to requests for more information | https://vitalrecords.utah.gov/fee-schedule","UT-15 | Office of Vital Records and Statistics | official agency announcements | checked 2026-10-24 | fee change effective 2026-07-01; queue notice dated 2026-06-01 | third-party vendor restriction; June 1 and June 5 news | https://vitalrecords.utah.gov/","UT-16 | Vital Records Forms and Links | official agency form index | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Applications; Miscellaneous Forms and Resources | https://vitalrecords.utah.gov/forms-and-links","UT-17 | Utah County Clerks | official agency directory | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Marriage Records directory | https://vitalrecords.utah.gov/utah-county-clerks-contact","UT-18 | Utah State Court Directory | official judicial directory | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | District Courts filter; locations and contact information | https://www.utcourts.gov/en/about/miscellaneous/directory.html","UT-19 | Court Filing, Transcript \u0026 Record Fees | official judicial fee schedule | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Certified copy and Exemplified copy rows | https://www.utcourts.gov/en/self-help/legal-help/procedures/fees.html","UT-20 | Utah Notary Resources \u0026 Forms | official agency certificate forms | checked 2026-10-24 | effective date not stated | Acknowledgment; Copy Certification; Jurat; Signature Witnessing | https://notary.utah.gov/resources-forms/","HCCH-01 | 1961 Apostille Convention | treaty text | checked 2026-10-24 | Convention entered into force 1965-01-24; destination applicability must be checked | PDF page 1 Articles 1-3; page 2 Articles 4-9 | https://assets.hcch.net/docs/b12ad529-5f75-411b-b523-8eebe86613c0.pdf","HCCH-02 | HCCH Apostille Section | official treaty resources | checked 2026-10-24 | current destination status must be checked | Status table and Competent Authorities links; do not infer all destinations from a member count | https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/specialised-sections/apostille"],"misconceptionTitle":"Online ordering is not a requirement to buy digital delivery","misconceptionIntro":"Mail-in requests begin online, but paper issuance remains available without the vendor digital-delivery charge. [UT-03: paper-certificate and Online Ordering questions; UT-01: Issuance Methods]","misconceptionNotes":["ApostilleXpress handles submission and delivery; the Lieutenant Governor remains the issuing competent authority. [UT-03: ApostilleXpress question]","An apostille authenticates origin and does not establish contents, educational equivalency or universal recipient acceptance. [HCCH-01: Articles 1-5; UT-08: recipient requirements]","A digital apostille is not simply a scan-back, and its availability does not make every electronic or remotely notarized input acceptable. [UT-01: Issuance Methods; UT-02: corporate/vital exclusions]"],"whatWeKnow":["Start with what an apostille proves \u2014 An apostille authenticates the origin of a public document: the signature, the signer\u2019s official capacity and, where applicable, the seal or stamp. It does not prove that every statement is true, make a private agreement lawful, establish educational equivalency or settle a recipient\u2019s requirements. First ask the foreign recipient which record, certification, translation and format it needs. Check the HCCH status table for whether the Convention applies between the United States and the actual destination, including relevant entry-into-force dates, objections and territorial application. If it does not apply, ask the receiving authority or its consulate for the authentication/legalization chain. Utah\u2019s certificate design does not eliminate those extra steps. [HCCH-01: Articles 1-5; HCCH-02: Status table; UT-08: recipient requirements and further legalization]","Choose the correct issuing office \u2014 The Utah Office of the Lieutenant Governor authenticates Utah public-official and Utah notarial signatures. Sort each document by the issuing authority or notary, not by where you live or where you will ship it. A California birth certificate stays on California\u2019s official-record route. Utah cannot authenticate an out-of-state notarization. FBI and other federal-agency records use the federal authority route; a federal-court record goes through the issuing federal court. Utah\u2019s online ordering contractor receives orders and delivers files; the Lieutenant Governor remains the authority that issues the certificate. [UT-02: documents not authenticated; UT-03: out-of-state, FBI/federal court and ApostilleXpress questions]","Birth, death and other vital records \u2014 Obtain an official certified record from Utah Vital Records; do not replace it with a hospital keepsake, website printout or a privately notarized photocopy. Utah lists certified public records among documents that do not need another notarization. Birth and death records, and every document issued by the Utah Division of Vital Records and Statistics, are excluded from digital apostille delivery on its request and process pages: choose paper. A marriage record issued by a County Clerk is a distinct source; do not automatically apply the Division-issued-record exclusion to every county output or assume that a particular county electronic copy is accepted. [UT-02: Original Public Documents and vital exclusion; UT-04: digital-delivery exclusion; UT-01: Issuance Methods]","Order the vital record before the apostille \u2014 Use the official Vital Records ordering page for online, local-health-office or mail orders; its forms index links birth, death and marriage/divorce applications and ID instructions. Eligibility and identity evidence come first: record holder, qualifying family, guardian or designated legal representative, with relationship or legal-need evidence when required. The agency says third-party vendors may not order on customers\u2019 behalf. Mail acquisition requests, correct fees and ID to Vital Records, PO Box 141012, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012. This is the record-ordering address, not the apostille address. Fees effective July 1, 2026 include $25 for an initial birth certificate, $35 for death, $25 for a marriage/divorce abstract and $10 for an additional copy of the same record ordered the same day; online, shipping and optional fees are separate. The ordering page says allow at least six weeks for processing and mailing. These acquisition costs and estimates are additional to the apostille. [UT-13: eligibility and ordering; UT-14: fee table; UT-15: third-party restriction; UT-16: Applications]","Marriage records, court records and divorce decrees \u2014 For a marriage record, use the issuing County Clerk or an eligible Vital Records record, according to what the recipient actually requests. For a court record or full divorce decree, request a certified copy from the issuing District Court Clerk using the official court directory. A Vital Records divorce abstract is not the court\u2019s full decree. Utah lists District Court Clerk-certified records and decrees in the no-extra-notarization category. Current court fees list $4 per certified document plus $0.50 per page; exemplification is $6 per document plus $0.50 per page. Do not order exemplification simply because the document goes abroad; first establish whether the recipient needs it. The Vital Records ordering page has inconsistent divorce coverage endpoints, 2010 and 2011, so confirm that year with the custodian; using the issuing court for a full decree avoids treating an abstract as a decree. [UT-02: Court \u0026 Legal; UT-13: record coverage; UT-17: Marriage Records directory; UT-18: District Courts; UT-19: certified/exemplified copy rows]","Public schools and charter schools \u2014 Utah\u2019s document list accepts public-school and charter-school original documents without notarization when they include the school official\u2019s signature, name and capacity. Ask the issuing school for that signed official record, including every page the recipient needs. Do not submit an unsigned student-portal printout and assume the school name makes it sufficient. The same agency page also places generic school records in its notarized list; for an unusual university, registrar, electronic transcript or nonstandard signature, ask the Lieutenant Governor which category applies before buying or altering the record. This guide does not create a universal school-notarization requirement. [UT-02: Education Records and School \u0026 Police Records]","Private-school diplomas and transcripts \u2014 Utah separately places private-school documents and school records such as diplomas, report cards and transcripts in the properly notarized category. Ask the school or registrar to prepare the record and arrange the required Utah notarization with a complete certificate; a student\u2019s unsupported copy is not automatically an official school record. Identify who signs and what the certificate authenticates. Check the recipient\u2019s instructions on original versus certified copy, transcript delivery and translation before opening a sealed school envelope. The route for a private school must not be copied onto the separately listed public/charter-school branch. [UT-02: Properly Notarized Documents, School \u0026 Police Records; UT-03: notarized-document requirements and recipient instructions]","Commerce company records require the apostille preparation option \u2014 For Utah filed company records or company certificates, obtain the Department of Commerce\u2019s certified copy prepared for apostille and notarized at the Department. The Lieutenant Governor\u2019s instructions expressly exclude emailed or printed company copies. Commerce\u2019s ordinary online ordering instructions send certified output by email; that output is not automatically suitable for this route. Use the linked In-House Order Form, identify the entity and requested filings/certificate, check the apostille box and specify the destination country. Choose a Certificate of Existence only when that is what the recipient requests; it does not substitute for certified articles or every filing in the company file. Private company authorizations and contracts use the private-document/notary route instead. [UT-02: Corporate Documents and Employment \u0026 Business; UT-11: Notarized Documents for Apostille; UT-12: page 1 apostille checkbox and services]","Order and pay for the company record separately \u2014 Commerce instructs applicants to email the completed in-house form to orders@utah.gov. Do not email or fax payment-card information: the agency says those orders will be rejected. For a mailed order, it sends an online payment link when ready; pickup orders may be paid at pickup. The current page lists a regular Certificate of Existence at $12, long form at $20, and certified copies at $12 certification plus $0.30 per copied page. Record acquisition is separate from the Lieutenant Governor\u2019s fee. Commerce\u2019s page estimates 3-10 working days regular or 1-2 business days for an extra $75 per document; its currently linked form says 7-10 regular or two business days expedited. Budget for the longer published range and confirm urgent timing with Commerce. The form permits mail or pickup and asks for a prepaid FedEx/UPS label when that carrier is selected. [UT-11: Notarized Documents for Apostille, Fees and introductory estimates; UT-12: page 1 service/return selections, footer 3/26]","Private notarized papers and local police records \u2014 Private powers of attorney, declarations, adoption papers, employment letters, business authorizations and the listed local police/sheriff clearances must have the appropriate Utah notarization before submission. Complete notarization before going to the Lieutenant Governor: that office does not offer it at the counter. The agency asks for original signatures and a complete compliant notarial certificate; a signature and stamp alone do not supply missing wording. A notary must not purport to determine a power of attorney\u2019s contents as legal advice. A local police clearance is not an FBI record; the latter stays on the federal route. [UT-02: Personal \u0026 Legal, Employment \u0026 Business, School \u0026 Police Records; UT-03: notarized documents, counter notarization, POA and FBI questions]","Use a lawful certificate and avoid unnecessary notarization \u2014 For simple wet-ink work, check a bank, credit union, employer, neighborhood notary, shipping store or mobile notary and compare availability and price. This is a practical search suggestion, not a claim that every location provides free service. Bring the recipient\u2019s written instructions and the official Utah certificate examples. The document or lawful instruction must establish the needed act; do not ask for a decorative stamp or let missing certificate text pass unnoticed. Check that the completed certificate identifies the signer, act, date and location and bears the notary\u2019s signature and seal. For public records, follow the custodian-certified route already described instead of trying to repair a deficient copy by notarizing it. [UT-20: certificate forms; UT-03: complete-certificate/original-signature requirement; UT-02: Original Public Documents]","Translations are a separate question \u2014 The Lieutenant Governor does not translate documents and does not require an English translation merely to process its authentication. Your recipient may still require a particular language, qualified translator or notarized translator\u2019s statement. Establish that requirement before ordering. A translator\u2019s notarized signature and the source record can be separate documents with separate authentication needs; an apostille on a notarial certificate does not independently prove the translation\u2019s accuracy or authenticate a missing custodian certification on the source record. [UT-03: translation question; HCCH-01: Articles 1-5; UT-08: recipient requirements]","Choose paper mail, a paper appointment or eligible digital delivery \u2014 Use Utah\u2019s current Request Forms page rather than an old search-result PDF. Online ordering launched September 3, 2026. Both mail-in paper and digital requests must now begin through its linked ApostilleXpress order portal. To receive paper by mail, select paper issuance and later mail the proper originals with the generated order delivery form. For an in-person appointment, use the separate paper In-Person Form. Selecting online order entry does not require buying the vendor\u2019s optional digital-delivery service. Do not use the historic 2025 fee brochure, old walk-in hours or old standalone mail form to plan a current request. [UT-04: all three request methods; UT-03: Online Ordering and paper-certificate questions; UT-09: September 3 announcement]","Prepare a paper mail-in packet \u2014 First start the paper/mail request through the portal linked from the official forms page and print its order delivery form. Include the correctly prepared original, custodian-certified or notarized documents, the printed delivery form, appropriate payment and a self-addressed return envelope. The process page still lists enclosed check, money order or card information while online instructions describe secure online payment. Follow the generated order\u2019s actual payment directions; if it has already collected payment, do not pay twice, and resolve a discrepancy with the Lieutenant Governor before sending money. Checks/money orders are payable to State of Utah; major cards are accepted. Do not mail cash. The ordinary paper mail-in authentication fee is $5 per document, separate from record acquisition and postage. [UT-01: Mail-In Instructions, Payment Information and Fees; UT-03: Online Ordering; UT-04: Mail-In Request Forms]","Address the outbound envelope by carrier \u2014 For USPS send the apostille packet to Office of the Lieutenant Governor, PO Box 142325, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. For FedEx or UPS use Office of the Lieutenant Governor, 350 North State Street, Suite 220, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. The street office is in the Utah State Capitol; do not send a commercial courier to the USPS box. Utah warns that USPS passes through State Mail/security screening before the Lieutenant Governor receives it. Its instructions say to schedule a pickup for UPS. Keep your outbound tracking and order number. These addresses are for the apostille request, not the separate Vital Records or Commerce acquisition requests. [UT-01: Mail-In \u0026 Drop Box Policies and Mailing \u0026 Physical Office Addresses]","Plan return shipping before sending originals \u2014 Include a prepaid, self-addressed tracked return envelope/label using USPS, FedEx or UPS if you need tracking; Utah otherwise returns documents by untracked USPS First Class Mail. The office does not track items after dispatch. Mail-in documents must be mailed back: the old option to mail in and collect in person is discontinued, and the physical drop box is closed. Arrange an international return label and a carrier-compatible address before sending from abroad; confirm carrier pickup/payment rules rather than expecting the state to create international logistics for you. A scan-back can help with checking, but it is not the attached original paper apostille packet. Keep that packet intact. [UT-01: discontinued Drop Box/In-Person Pick-ups and return instructions; HCCH-01: Article 4 attachment]","Book an appointment for in-person paper service \u2014 Use the official scheduling page: appointments are required from July 1, 2026 and walk-ins are not accepted. Advance slots open two weeks ahead; limited same-day afternoon slots open at 10 a.m. on business days. Complete the In-Person Form before arriving: destination and document count in section 1, contact information in section 2 and the correct fee quantities in section 3. Bring the prepared documents and payment to 350 North State Street, Suite 220, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114. The appointment window is ten minutes, but processing may take up to two hours; do not book onward travel around immediate completion. Another person may handle an appointment pickup if they have the request name or receipt number. [UT-07: booking and wait times; UT-05: page 1 sections 1-3; UT-03: appointments and third-party pickup; UT-01: physical address]","Count fees by submission and exact signer \u2014 Ordinary same-day in-person paper service is $20 per document. Additional documents bearing the exact same public official\u2019s or Utah notary\u2019s signature qualify for the $5 same-signer/same-purpose category after the first document; documents with different signers retain the ordinary base fee. Three ordinary in-person documents signed by the same notary total $30; two signed by different judicial clerks total $40. Paper mail-in is $5 per document, so three mail-in documents total $15. Adoption paper documents have a $5 rate and a specialized form requiring a true adoption-purpose certification; unrelated papers do not become adoption documents to reduce the fee. Inter-governmental authentication is separately listed at $20; ask the office if that special category actually applies. Digital delivery has its separate vendor charge. [UT-03: Document Fees examples; UT-01: Fees \u0026 Processing Times; UT-06: page 1 adoption certification and fees]","Understand actual digital eligibility and cost \u2014 Utah issues true electronic apostilles through its contracted order/delivery system; this is different from a scan of a paper apostille, a notary\u2019s digitally signed PDF or a printed electronic record. For eligible digital-only requests, use the official portal link, scan every page and certification clearly, choose delivery recipients and preserve the original electronic file when issued. Photos are not accepted. Current pricing is $5 state fee plus $69.95 vendor digital-delivery charge per document, $74.95 combined on the form. Paper issuance avoids that digital-delivery charge. Do not order digital for Utah Division of Vital Records output. The existence of digital apostilles does not itself settle acceptance of every remotely notarized input or the emailed company output excluded by the document instructions. [UT-01: Issuance Methods; UT-03: Online Ordering and scanning; UT-04: exclusion; UT-05: page 1 digital price; UT-09: eligible scans]","Do not damage a secured record to make a scan \u2014 The online FAQ asks for scans of every page and says to remove staples and paper clips before scanning. That instruction must not be treated as permission to dismantle a custodian-secured record or an already attached apostille. If you cannot scan the full record without breaking its official attachment, ask the custodian or Lieutenant Governor for the appropriate presentation instead. Keep an issued paper apostille attached to its document; retain the issued electronic file for a digital apostille. A printout of an electronic file does not preserve the original digital signature for verification. These packet-preservation points are route guidance, not a claim about Utah security paper or any particular fastening method. [UT-03: scanning question; HCCH-01: Article 4; UT-01: electronic versus paper issuance]","Budget for acquisition, state processing and transit separately \u2014 Checked October 24, 2026: Utah publishes 1-3 business days for mail-in processing after the Lieutenant Governor\u2019s office receives the documents. State Mail and security screening can add days before office receipt; weekends, state/federal holidays, outbound transit, return transit, record acquisition and correction are additional. Its FAQ describes online and appointment requests as same-day, with appointment completion potentially taking two hours. Those are published estimates, not a deadline promise. Vital-record acquisition can take at least six weeks under the current ordering page; Commerce\u2019s acquisition estimates differ between page and form. Confirm office closures and current timing before travel or a deadline, without converting a fast electronic delivery after issuance into guaranteed fast approval. [UT-01: processing notice and Mail-In Processing Schedule; UT-03: processing questions; UT-07: wait times; UT-13: Orders by Mail; UT-11 and UT-12: acquisition estimates]","Verify the issued certificate \u2014 Use the official Utah verification portal for both paper and digital certificates. Enter the certificate number and repeat it as prompted, using the numbers-only instruction; the portal then securely redirects to the e-register. Compare the register information with the certificate and attached record. A digital recipient receives download instructions after issuance; keep the issued file rather than forwarding only an image. An e-register match supports certificate authenticity; it does not decide whether the record\u2019s contents are correct or satisfy the recipient. If a number does not verify, recheck transcription and contact the issuing office with the order/certificate details. No real or sample certificate number was queried to prepare this guide. [UT-10: verification fields and redirect notice; UT-03: e-Register and digital-delivery questions; HCCH-01: Articles 5 and 7]","Recover from a return or recipient refusal \u2014 Ask for the exact written defect or refusal and identify whether it concerns the source record, notarization, apostille or recipient requirements. Missing notarial language, signatures or seal belongs back with the notary for a lawful correction or new act; a wrong or incomplete certified record belongs with its custodian. Do not edit an issued certificate, add a stamp after completion or conceal missing pages. Correct poor scans with complete legible pages, and redirect other-state/federal documents to the proper authority. Utah\u2019s July 8 announcement says a new request and standard fees apply when a new certificate is needed because of underlying-document or receiving-country requirements. Its main process page overstates universal acceptance; the dated announcement preserves recipient requirements and possible non-Hague legalization. The FAQ also mixes electronic-format recognition with advice that recipients may ask for paper: obtain written transaction requirements, and distinguish the underlying-record format from rejection solely because the apostille is electronic. [UT-02: exclusions; UT-03: scan/recipient questions; UT-08: recipient requirements and replacement; UT-01: Universal Certificate]","Optional help after the DIY route is understood \u2014 You can use the official process without hiring Notary Geek. If practical help is needed, ask separately about notary-wording review before local signing, receiving or forwarding originals, form help, scan-back planning or carrier labels; establish scope, fees, recipient requirements and custody before shipping anything. Full handled assistance is another optional choice for a route that has been accepted for that service, not a prerequisite to using this guide. Do not assume a Utah vital-record ordering entitlement can be delegated to a commercial service, that digital delivery includes international paper shipment, or that a private service can guarantee state or recipient acceptance. These are optional planning boundaries rather than Utah service promises. [UT-15: third-party ordering restriction; UT-01: issuance and return options; UT-08: recipient requirements]"],"whatMustBeConfirmed":["An unusual school or registrar output: the public/charter no-notarization row and generic notarized-school row overlap. Obtain Lieutenant Governor confirmation for the exact institution, signer and electronic format before altering or purchasing the record. [UT-02: Education Records and School \u0026 Police Records]","The exact corporate electronic output: Commerce emails ordinary certified records but the Lieutenant Governor excludes emailed/printed company copies and requires Department notarization. Use the in-house apostille option; do not assume a different digital submission is accepted without office confirmation. [UT-02: Corporate Documents; UT-11: online orders and Notarized Documents for Apostille]","If the generated mail-in order payment directions differ from the process page\u2019s enclosed-payment checklist, resolve the discrepancy with the Lieutenant Governor; do not pay twice. No checkout was entered during this source review. [UT-01: Mail-In Instructions; UT-03: Online Ordering]","Written recipient instructions for the precise underlying record, translation, age and format. The universal-certificate page overstates acceptance; the July 8 announcement retains recipient requirements and further non-Hague legalization. The FAQ\u2019s digital-format acceptance statements also need the underlying-record distinction preserved. [UT-01: Universal Certificate; UT-08: recipient requirements; UT-03: digital acceptance questions]","All Division Vital Records output should use paper under the broad process/request/type-page exclusion, despite narrower wording in one FAQ answer. Ask the office before proposing an exception. [UT-01: vital exclusion; UT-04: digital exclusion; UT-03: eligible documents question]","The published Vital Records divorce coverage endpoints disagree, 2010 versus 2011. Confirm availability for that year with the custodian; a full court decree should be ordered from its issuing court instead of a Vital Records abstract. [UT-13: record coverage; UT-18: court directory]","Exact original electronic/remote-notarial input acceptance and a secured record\u2019s scan preparation must be confirmed with the Lieutenant Governor where not expressly described; do not infer these from true e-Apostille availability or break an official attachment. [UT-03: notarized documents and scanning; UT-01: issuance; HCCH-01: Article 4]","Current processing, appointment availability, holiday closure and international carrier pickup/return arrangements before a deadline. Commerce page/form estimates differ and are not a promise. [UT-01: mail/return instructions; UT-07: booking; UT-11 and UT-12: acquisition estimates]"],"sourceConfidence":"High for the dated published category, form, fee, address and service-method instructions cited here; unresolved source contradictions and exact-output exceptions are named. No firsthand Utah filing, verification transaction or recipient acceptance was performed.","lastReviewed":"2026-10-24","contentUpdateUrl":null,"canIssueEApostille":true,"eApostilleCapabilityNote":"Utah currently offers true digital apostille issuance with $5 state fee plus $69.95 vendor digital-delivery charge per document; Division Vital Records output is excluded. E-apostille issuance is separate from eligibility of any particular electronic/RON input and underlying-record acceptance. [UT-01: Issuance Methods; UT-04: digital exclusion; UT-03: Online Ordering]","apostillePhysicalSecurityLevel":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityFeatures":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityNote":"No firsthand Utah security-paper or fastening observation is claimed. Keep an issued paper certificate attached to its underlying record and retain the issued digital file for electronic verification. [HCCH-01: Article 4; UT-03: e-Register]","targetedLawReviewDate":null,"targetedLawReviewScope":null}