{"stateName":"Alabama","slug":"alabama","summary":"Prepare the correct Alabama record, choose Apostille or Certification, calculate the right agency fees and submit the packet yourself with usable return delivery.","commonDocuments":"Alabama vital records; actual certified court orders and divorce decrees; company existence and certified filings; notarized school records; private affidavits/authorizations and translations. Other-state, incoming foreign and federal records have their own origin authority.","timing":"Checked 2026-10-26: SOS submittal form says allow five business days for mail time, not a guaranteed processing or total delivery estimate. Walk-in hours are Monday-Friday 8 a.m.-5 p.m. CHS package procurement, business-record procurement, county authentication and both transits are separate.","caveat":"Apostille and non-Hague Certification have different signature chains. The $25 CHS vital package includes the SOS certificate; additional $6 copies do not. Do not add universal notarization, a probate step to every apostille or a notarized cover to an issuer-certified record.","officialResourceName":"Alabama SOS Authentications","officialResourceUrl":"https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/authentications","micrositeUrl":null,"lawResourceName":"HCCH Apostille Convention, Articles 1-7","lawResourceUrl":"https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/full-text/?cid=41","secondaryLawResourceName":"Authentication Submittal Form","secondaryLawResourceUrl":"https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/form-files/AUTHENTICATION%20SUBMITTAL%20FORM.pdf","legalNotes":["AL-01 | Alabama SOS Authentications | agency guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | Apostilles; Certifications; FAQs | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/authentications","AL-02 | Authentication Submittal Form | official form | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF p.1, payment, return and footer | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/form-files/AUTHENTICATION%20SUBMITTAL%20FORM.pdf","AL-03 | Authentications Handbook | agency handbook | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: 2020; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF pp.3-4 (printed2-3); registrar footnote p.3 | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/Authentications%20Handbook.pdf","AL-04 | ADPH Apostille and Exemplified Copies | issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: 2026-05-26; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | English section, fees/ordering/restrictions | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/apostille-and-exemplified-copies.html","AL-05 | ADPH vital record application | official form | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: 2024-10; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF p.1 applicant/signature/reason and p.2 ID; footer | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/assets/hs14eng.pdf","AL-06 | Business Entity Document Copy Request | official form | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: page1 footer1/2022; page2 footer10/2022 (inconsistent printed revisions); effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF pp.1-2; fee and return footer | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/2022-09/be-DocumentCopyRequest.pdf","AL-07 | Certificate of Existence Application | official form | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: 2022-01; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF pp.1-2; purpose, fee, printed footer | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/2024-11/CertificateofExistence.pdf","AL-08 | Apostille Process, University of Montevallo | school issuer instructions | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: URL path2025/07; printed revision not stated; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | PDF p.1, graduate request/diploma/transcript, prepaid envelopes and registrar address; non-Hague wording conflicts with SOS | https://www.montevallo.edu/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Apostille-Diploma-Process-2025.pdf","AL-09 | CHS Contact Us | issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: page last updated2026-01-30; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | In-person requests; appointment scope; physical/postal address and excluded telephone services | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/contact.html","AL-10 | Birth Certificates | issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: page last updated2025-08-21; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | Records Available; adult adoptees; keepsake versus legal current record | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/birth-certificates.html","AL-11 | Divorce Certificates | issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: page last updated2025-08-21; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | 1950 coverage; search information; correction via county circuit court; apostille link | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/divorce-certificates.html","HCCH-01 | Apostille Convention full text | treaty text | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: concluded 1961-10-05; general entry into force 1965-01-24; bilateral applicability separately checked; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | Articles 1-5, 7, 9, 12-13; exemptions and excluded categories | https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/full-text/?cid=41","HCCH-02 | Apostille Convention status table | HCCH treaty-status record | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: live status checked 2026-10-26; per-party entry into force/objections and territory dates vary; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | EIF, objections, EXT and declarations; check actual origin/destination pair | https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/status-table/?cid=41","US-01 | Prepare Document for an Apostille Certificate | U.S. Department of State guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: page date 2026-06-16; effective date not stated; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | Federal documents versus state-issued documents; document preparation | https://travel.state.gov/en/replace-certify/authenticate-documents/apostille-certificate.html","US-02 | Request Authentication Services | U.S. Department of State guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication date not established; source revision/update: publication/effective date not independently established; effective date not established unless expressly identified in locator/text | Federal request instructions and current DS-4194/service link | https://travel.state.gov/en/replace-certify/authenticate-documents/request-services.html","AL-12 | Death Certificates | ADPH issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication/revision/effective date not independently established | Records Available (1908); Restrictions (grandchild entitlement, legal representative family/estate, named informant) | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/death-certificates.html","AL-13 | Marriage Certificates | ADPH issuer guidance | checked 2026-10-26 | publication/revision/effective date not independently established | Records Available (August1936; earlier county probate); corrections and issuer distinction | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html","AL-14 | Current Authentication Submittal Form | official form | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/effective date not established unless stated below | PDF p.1: payment, foreign return, mail allowance and 8AM\u20134:30PM walk-in footer; no printed revision identified | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/sites/default/files/form-files/trademark-files/AUTHENTICATION%20SUBMITTAL%20FORM.pdf","AL-15 | ADPH Apostille and Exemplified Copies | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/effective date not established unless stated below | English ordering/fees: $25 combined package; special ordering channels | https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/apostille-and-exemplified-copies.html","AL-16 | SOS Authentications | official agency guidance | checked 2026-10-28 | publication/effective date not established unless stated below | Apostilles versus Certifications; school prerequisite; $5 fee | https://www.sos.alabama.gov/administrative-services/authentications"],"misconceptionTitle":"Probate authentication is route-specific; it is not a universal Alabama apostille prerequisite.","misconceptionIntro":"Start with destination, document and signature. Keep CHS, Business Services and Authentication Division procedures distinct.","misconceptionNotes":["The SOS non-Hague Certification chain adds probate authentication for notarized documents; the ordinary Hague notary apostille path does not impose that step. [AL-01.]","The general HS14 fee text is for ordinary records; special CHS apostille/exemplified packages use the published $25 charge. [AL-04; AL-05.]"],"whatWeKnow":["Identify the destination and requested document \u2014 Get the receiving office\u2019s written requirements: country/territory, purpose, exact record, issue-age limits, translation and original/paper/electronic format. The apostille authenticates origin\u2014the official signature, capacity and seal\u2014not a diploma\u2019s accreditation, a private statement\u2019s truth or acceptance for a particular transaction. Check the HCCH status table\u2019s entry-into-force dates, territorial extensions and relevant objections for the United States and destination. HCCH membership alone is not participation in this Convention. Waivers and excluded documents may remove or change authentication. A valid Convention apostille generally replaces diplomatic/consular legalization; outside it obtain the destination\u2019s actual authentication/legalization sequence. [HCCH-01: Arts.1-5,9,12-13; HCCH-02; AL-01: Types of authentications.]","Route by issuing authority or notary state \u2014 Alabama handles the Alabama official or Alabama notarial signature identified by its instructions. Residence and shipping address do not control: an Alabama resident\u2019s Louisiana birth certificate goes to Louisiana; a private affidavit notarized in Florida follows Florida authentication. An incoming foreign public record normally obtains authentication in its country of origin for use here. FBI records and other federal documents go to the competent federal authority, with special issuer exceptions; use the State Department preparation/request links. Do not add an Alabama notary cover or private copy declaration to replace the issuer-certified vital, court, corporate or federal record the recipient requested. [AL-01: scope, signatures and federal FAQ; US-01; US-02; HCCH-01: Arts.1,3.]","Distinguish Apostille from non-Hague Certification \u2014 SOS lists an Apostille on the official signature and seal of a currently commissioned Alabama notary, probate judge or current State Registrar. Birth/death certificates requiring an apostille must carry the current Registrar\u2019s signature; the page identifies Nicole Henderson Rushing and labels that change effective January 1,2018. Recheck that current signature condition rather than trusting a record solely because it is old or embossed. For a non-Hague Certification, SOS lists probate judge, circuit clerk or current Registrar signatures; a notarized document first needs authentication of the notary\u2019s commission by the probate judge\u2019s office in the notary\u2019s commissioning county. Do not add that county step to every ordinary Hague apostille. County authentication and fee are separate from the $5 SOS charge. [AL-01: Apostilles/Certifications; AL-03: PDF p.3, printedp.2 and Registrar footnote.]","Order the combined vital-record package when obtaining a new record \u2014 ADPH\u2019s Center for Health Statistics offers an Apostille or Exemplified package: a birth, death, marriage or divorce certificate signed by the State Registrar plus the Secretary of State\u2019s additional certification. Download the linked two-page HS 14 application; complete and sign the applicant section, record details and return address. Next to Reason for Request write Apostille or Exemplified and the destination country. Use one certificate type per form. CHS birth/death holdings begin in 1908 and marriage holdings in August 1936; earlier marriage records come from the probate office of the license-issuing county. Divorce holdings begin in 1950; earlier decrees/information come from the county circuit court. Verify an older record\u2019s custodian before paying the package fee. The special package costs $25 each and can be requested by mail, telephone or at CHS in person; it cannot be ordered online or through a county health department. The generic application\u2019s $15 ordinary-copy fee and county/online ordering text do not override these special instructions. Do not send a second $5 SOS payment when using this $25 combined package. [AL-04: English fees/ordering; AL-05: PDF p.1; AL-10; AL-11; AL-12; AL-13: Records Available.]","Establish vital-record eligibility and choose the proper record \u2014 For restricted birth records under 125 years and death records under 25 years, ADPH names the registrant, parents/legal guardian, spouse, child, sibling and legal representative of an authorized person; otherwise obtain the required written signed permission or establish the applicable legal authority with CHS. The separate current Death Certificates page also names a grandchild demonstrating entitlement, legal representative of family/estate and the listed informant. Its list differs from the shared birth/death wording on the special-package page: if relying on one of these death-specific categories, supply the entitlement/authority evidence and ask CHS to reconcile the special-package eligibility before paying; do not infer that every grandchild is automatically entitled. Provide a copy of one accepted primary photo ID or two different secondary IDs listed on HS 14 page 2; a foreign passport is listed as primary ID. The form\u2019s primary-ID list permits current ID or expiration no more than 60 days earlier. A designated pickup person and the applicant both need acceptable ID. Include relevant guardianship/representation or permission evidence. Marriage/divorce certificates are unrestricted, but still complete/sign the application and identify the record. For births, give birth name/date/place and parents\u2019 full names before first marriage. For deaths from 1991, choose with or without cause of death as required by the recipient. Keepsake display certificates and an adult adoptee\u2019s informational sealed-file copy are not substitutes for the current legal certified birth record. [AL-04: restrictions; AL-05: pp.1-2; AL-10: keepsake/adoptee sections; AL-12: Restrictions.]","Pay CHS and use its own submission channel \u2014 For a mailed combined package, pay $25 per Apostille/Exemplified copy by check or money order payable to Center for Health Statistics; no cash. An additional $15 expedites the request; it is not a guaranteed delivery date. Additional ordinary certified copies of the same record cost $6 each and receive no SOS certificate. Mail the application, fee and eligibility/ID materials to Alabama Department of Public Health, Center for Health Statistics, P.O. Box 5625, Montgomery AL 36103-5625. Phone orders for these special packages use 334-206-5418 and have additional service charges; the general VitalChek phone/online route is not the special apostille order route. For in-person special requests, CHS lists RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Suite 1150, Montgomery AL 36104. Its January 2026 contact page says apostille/exemplified copies continue there, while ordinary certified copies moved to county health departments. Appointment-only 8 a.m.-4 p.m. language on that page applies to changes/corrections/registration, not proof of a mandatory apostille appointment. Confirm special counter hours, completion and courier/return arrangement with CHS before travel; do not infer an appointment or same-day promise. [AL-04; AL-05; AL-09.]","Use an existing vital certificate or obtain the actual court decree \u2014 For an already issued birth/death certificate, check the current Registrar signature and original official seal against SOS requirements before paying the separate $5 authentication fee; a public-record photocopy notarization does not cure the wrong issuer or signature. ADPH divorce certificates cover 1950 onward; older divorce information comes from the county circuit court. A divorce certificate is not the complete divorce decree or custody order. If the recipient asks for the judgment/decree, request certified paper copies from the court clerk holding the case, giving case number, parties, order/date, foreign-use destination, copy count and return address. Ask that office for its certification method, access restrictions and actual copy/certification fees. The SOS Hague signature list does not name every circuit clerk, though its non-Hague list does: resolve the exact signer and any additional official certification with Authentication Division 334-242-5325 before ordering an unusual court output. Never replace a required clerk-certified order with a privately notarized cover sheet. [AL-01: signature lists; AL-03; AL-11: Records Available and Corrections.]","Choose corporate existence, tax compliance or a certified filing \u2014 An SOS Certificate of Existence verifies the entity\u2019s indexed/registered existence; it is not the Department of Revenue\u2019s Certificate of Compliance/Good Standing. Clarify which the foreign recipient needs. SOS\u2019s linked COE form, printed 1/2022 although hosted in a 2024/11 path, charges $25 for paper or $28 for immediate online output. For paper, type two copies of the form for one entity ID/name and include a stamped self-addressed envelope and the listed payment. A domestic limited partnership formed before 2011 needs its Certificate of Information on file. To order a certified formation document or another filing, type two copies of the Business Entity Copy Request, identify entity ID, exact filing names and page counts, and choose certified rather than plain copies. The form charges $2/page plus $10 per certified document; e.g. one three-page certified filing costs $16 before its separate authentication and return. The copy form has inconsistent printed footers (p.1:1/2022; p.2:10/2022), preserved as source metadata. The copy form describes convenience charges as 3% of the total charge plus $2 and a $30 dishonored-check fee; these are separate from the paper-copy arithmetic. Card/convenience and failed-payment charges may add cost. Review the current selected order before authorizing payment. [AL-06: pp.1-2; AL-07: pp.1-2.]","Keep business procurement separate from Authentication Division \u2014 Business Services paper requests go to SOS, Business Services Division/Business Entities, P.O. Box 5616, Montgomery AL 36103-5616; the business courier address is RSA Plaza Building, 770 Washington Avenue, Suite 580, Montgomery AL 36104. The COE form states 24-48 hours after receipt for paper processing, while certified-copy requests are handled in received order. These are procurement statements, not apostille timelines. SOS offers immediate online company outputs, but an official download\u2019s existence does not establish that a personal printout meets the Authentication Division\u2019s original-signature/seal requirement. Tell Business Services the document is for foreign authentication, obtain the proper certified issued output and confirm that exact output/signature with Authentication Division before relying on a printout. SOS lists articles/merger documents among its categories, but do not privately notarize the company registry copy to bypass issuer certification. Once prepared, send the separate authentication packet to 11 South Union Street, not back to the procurement office. [AL-06: pp.1-2; AL-07: pp.1-2; AL-01: categories/original signature and seal.]","Arrange school records through the registrar \u2014 Alabama SOS expressly requires school documents to be notarized by an Alabama notary; a registrar\u2019s signature and school seal alone are insufficient. Request the official diploma/transcript and the school\u2019s notarized registrar certification for foreign use. University of Montevallo\u2019s July 2025 process PDF gives a concrete example: send a written request with full name, degree and graduation date; include original diploma or order an Apostille Transcript through its Parchment link to the registrar; add the completed SOS submittal form, $5 SOS payment and prepaid envelopes for school-to-SOS and SOS-to-you. Its registrar address is 2 nd Floor Palmer Hall, Station 6040, Montevallo AL 35115;205-665-6040. The school notarizes the diploma copy and forwards the packet. Follow another school\u2019s own fees, consent and ordering requirements. Montevallo\u2019s non-Hague wording refers to Certification \u201Calong with\u201D apostille and a Shelby Circuit Clerk step; that conflicts with SOS\u2019s current route description naming the probate judge for authentication of the notary\u2019s commission. Resolve that institutional variant with the registrar and SOS before sending a non-Hague school request; do not buy both certificates automatically. [AL-01: school FAQ/Certifications; AL-08: PDF p.1.]","Complete a private notarization or translation before submission \u2014 For an affidavit, power of attorney, consent, privately signed company document or translator statement, establish the required notarial act/certificate before the appointment. Bring acceptable identification and appear as the act requires; a sworn statement and an acknowledgment are different acts. Have the notary complete the proper certificate, including venue/date, signer, notary signature and required official seal/commission details. Merely adding a stamp is not a completed act. For a non-Hague Certification, follow with probate authentication in the notary\u2019s commissioning county. SOS requires a notarized English translation with every foreign-language document. Ask the actual recipient about translator qualification, destination-language translation and whether a separately notarized translation needs its own certificate; the apostille does not certify translation accuracy. A notary cover cannot become the vital/court/company official record itself. No blanket Alabama remote-notary-to-paper apostille conversion route or e-Apostille service was verified in this source review; confirm exact output requirements before relying on electronic notarization/printouts. [AL-01: original/seal, translation and Certification FAQs; AL-03: PDF pp.3-4. Appointment/certificate preparation is practical guidance.]","Fill the SOS form and calculate fees without double-counting \u2014 For direct SOS submission use the one-page Authentication Submittal Form linked on the current official page. Enter requester/contact, address, email/daytime phone, Apostille or Certification choice, destination and number of documents. Enclose one document for each certificate requested. Multiply count\u00D7$5: three separate documents cost $15 in SOS fees. Pay by check or money order to Secretary of State, or use the listed Visa/Mastercard/American Express/Discover fields on the official paper form; the form also has a cash box, but use traceable noncash payment for mailed originals. Do not email card details. Issuer fees, county authentication, notary/translation charges, postage and carrier costs are additional; the $15 CHS expedite charge belongs to CHS, not a verified SOS rush service. The $25 CHS vital package already includes the state certification. [AL-02: p.1; AL-04: fees.]","Use the Authentication Division address and return method \u2014 The current authentication form and handbook both direct the completed request, prepared original/certified document and fee to Office of the Secretary of State, Authentication Division, 11 South Union Street, Suite 224, Montgomery AL 36130. They do not give separate postal/courier addresses for this authentication packet; use that street address rather than general website footer P.O. Box 5616, which is used in the business forms. The current submittal form lists walk-in service Monday-Friday 8 a.m.\u20134:30 p.m.; no appointment requirement or same-day completion guarantee is stated. Recheck closures and call 334-242-5325 before a deadline visit. Provide a self-addressed first-class/Priority/Express envelope with postage, or the form\u2019s prepaid courier envelope/label (it names FedEx, UPS, Airborne and DHL) or courier account label. The form permits an account number on the label; carrier-name text is not proof a particular service/product remains available. SOS permits third-party delivery with a prepaid pre-addressed carrier envelope; without paid return it uses regular USPS to the original sender. For international return, confirm service/billing to that destination and supply fully usable materials; do not invent a worldwide delivery promise. [AL-14: current return/address/hours footer; AL-02: retained earlier form; AL-03: PDF p.4; AL-01: third-party FAQ.]","Plan time, track the packet and recover from a rejection \u2014 The SOS form says allow five business days for mail time; it does not call this a guaranteed processing or total-turnaround estimate. Separate issuer procurement, notary/probate preparation, outbound transit, state processing and return transit; ask the responsible official office for its current queue if a deadline matters. Keep copies, payment evidence and tracking. Inspect the returned document/certificate names, official and destination/type; preserve attachments without changing pages or stamps. No Alabama online apostille lookup or e-Apostille issuance was verified; use the issuing Authentication Division for register verification when needed under Convention Article 7. For a rejection keep the written reason, reference and named office. Correct missing current-Registrar certification at CHS, court certification at the clerk, a notary defect through the original notary, missing probate authentication at the correct county office, and fee/return/translation defects at their source. Ask whether a replacement fee is due before resubmitting; never self-edit the completed certificate. For recipient refusal obtain its written reason, authority and escalation contact before changing the packet: record version/language/substance may be the issue even when the apostille is authentic. [AL-01; AL-02: footer; AL-04; HCCH-01: Arts.5,7. Inspection/recovery steps are practical guidance.]","Worked cases: new birth record and a school transcript \u2014 An eligible person needs one new Alabama birth record with apostille, one extra plain certified copy and expedited CHS handling. The published charges are $25\u002B$6\u002B$15=$46 before any phone service/delivery charge; only the $25 package gets the SOS attachment. Do not add another $5 or assume the $6 extra is apostilled. For a separate Alabama school transcript using the Hague route, get the school\u2019s properly notarized output, then submit it directly with the SOS form and $5 plus procurement/postage; no universal probate step is listed for that apostille. If its destination instead requires non-Hague Certification, add the actual probate authentication step and county fee before SOS, then follow any further destination legalization requirements. If a second private document was notarized in Florida, it needs Florida\u2019s route rather than another Alabama certificate merely because it travels with the Alabama record. [AL-04; AL-01; AL-02; AL-08; US-01.]","Use free instructions or pay for defined practical help \u2014 You can complete these official routes without contacting Notary Geek. This free DIY guide does not remove government, record, notary, translator or carrier charges. Greg\u2019s attributed Notary Geek operating guidance in the maintained repository separates route design from local notary execution and says most physical state routes use tracked carriage both ways. It does not establish an Alabama runner, a privileged queue or a fixed service quote. A managed service can add correct-record procurement coordination, document review, county/SOS packet handling, usable labels, receiving/scan-back and onward delivery when expressly agreed. A runner has value only where actual counter availability and travel savings justify it; paying a runner cannot guarantee acceptance or state speed. A bank/workplace/local notary can be inexpensive execution help after the needed act is verified. Agree scope and price for any service; no government affiliation or outcome guarantee is implied. [AL-01; AL-02; attribution: README.md, preserved shipping/logistics and Local Notary Competence Boundary guidance; operating guidance, not an Alabama rule.]","Quick start: Choose the record \u2014 Vital record? CHS offers a $25 combined record/certificate package; do not add a second $5 SOS charge for that package. Company papers need the correct issuer-certified product described in the full guide. [AL-15; AL-06 checked 2026-10-26.]","Quick start: Check the preliminary chain \u2014 For a notarized Apostille, Alabama accepts the commissioned notary signature. Non-Hague Certification of a notarized document additionally needs probate authentication from the commissioning county. [AL-16]","Quick start: Complete the packet \u2014 Direct SOS: prepared document, submittal form, country, count and $5 each. Checks/money orders: Secretary of State. The current form lists walk-in hours 8\u20134:30 weekdays. [AL-14]","Quick start: Prepare the return \u2014 Use the form\u2019s return options. Foreign-country delivery needs a prepaid envelope or label. Its five-business-day mail allowance is not a state-processing promise. [AL-14]","Quick answer: Can a school seal replace notarization? \u2014 No. SOS requires the school document to be notarized; the Certification route adds county authentication. [AL-16]","Quick answer: Can I buy the CHS package online? \u2014 No. Its special Apostille/Exemplified ordering routes are mail, telephone or in person. [AL-15]","Quick answer: Does paying for help change the chain? \u2014 No. Buy only a defined preparation or delivery task; keep the required official certifications. Practical guidance based on [AL-16]."],"whatMustBeConfirmed":["Actual destination/territory, bilateral Convention status, recipient record version/age, translations and accepted output. [HCCH-01; HCCH-02.]","Exact original court/business signature/output if not plainly covered by the published signature list. SOS 334-242-5325. A portal download is not itself proof a customer printout is accepted. [AL-01; AL-06; AL-07.]","CHS special-package counter hours, courier/return arrangements and current procurement time; no completion promise inferred from ordinary-copy instructions. Corrections/registration appointments are a different service. [AL-04; AL-09.]","Montevallo non-Hague variant conflicts with current SOS probate wording; resolve before sending. Do not pay for both apostille and Certification automatically. [AL-08; AL-01.]","Current closures, SOS queue, international return carrier/billing and any county probate fee. Five mail days is not a guaranteed state processing estimate. [AL-02.]","No verified e-Apostille issuance, online apostille register, RON paper-conversion route or Alabama runner promise established by these sources.","Death-specific applicant categories differ between the ordinary Death Certificates page and the shared special-package page. If relying on grandchild entitlement, estate representation or named-informant status, obtain CHS confirmation of the required proof for the special package. [AL-12; AL-04.]"],"sourceConfidence":"High for cited ordinary paper routes, source fees/forms and CHS special package checked 2026-10-26; conditional for nonstandard official signatures, electronic output, current queue, international return and recipient acceptance. Guide version 2026-10-26.1; first authored 2026-10-26. Source revisions/updates are separately listed. No website publication/effective date, submission or acceptance claimed.","lastReviewed":"2026-10-26","contentUpdateUrl":"/request.html","canIssueEApostille":null,"eApostilleCapabilityNote":"No Alabama e-Apostille issuance established by the checked source pages/forms. A digital record or scan-back is not itself an e-Apostille.","apostillePhysicalSecurityLevel":null,"apostillePhysicalSecurityFeatures":"No physical certificate/security-paper examination performed.","apostillePhysicalSecurityNote":"Preserve the full attached packet; do not detach, replace pages or add stamps. Obtain issuer correction rather than editing a completed certificate. Practical preservation guidance.","targetedLawReviewDate":null,"targetedLawReviewScope":null}